08 April 2013

#227 Levice, Slovakia

The current form of the flag of Slovakia was adopted by Slovakia's Constitution, which came into force on 3 September 1992. The flag, in common with other Slavic nations, uses the white, blue and red colours.

Slovakia's flag in its current form (but with another coat of arms on it or without any arms) can be dated back to the revolutionary year 1848. It was also used semi-officially in Czechoslovakia before World War II, by the Slovak Republic during WWII, and finally adopted (without the coat of arms) on 1 March 1990 as the flag of the Slovak Republic within Czechoslovakia. The coat of arms was added on 3 September 1992 and a special law describing the details of the flag followed in February 1993.

The blue triangle in the current flag of the Czech Republic, with which Slovakia formed Czechoslovakia up to the dissolution of Czechoslovakia, was taken over from the blue strip of Slovakia's flag in 1920 into the flag of Czechoslovakia. The flag of Czechoslovakia was taken over by the Czech Republic in late 1992 in direct violation of the 1992 Act on the Division of Czechoslovakia explicitly forbidding state symbols to be used by the two successor states.

Since the Slovak flag without the coat of arms is identical to that of the modern flag of Russia and it can also be compared to the modern flag of Slovenia, the Constitution of Slovakia added the national coat of arms in September 1992.


The Tatra MountainsTatras or Tatra (Tatry either in Polish and in Slovak - plurale tantumTátra in Hungarian), are a mountain range which forms a natural border between Slovakia and Poland, and are the highest mountain range in the Carpathian Mountains. The Tatras should be distinguished from another Slovak mountain range, the Low TatrasSlovakNízke Tatry, located south of the Tatra mountains. Sometimes, Tatras is a term used for either or both ranges.

Tatras are protected by law by the establishment of TPN and TANAP in their territory, with membership in the World Network of Biosphere Reserves of UNESCO.

High Tatras or High Tatra (Slovak and Czech: Vysoké Tatry, Polish: Tatry Wysokie) are a mountain range on the borders between Slovakia and Poland. They are a part of the Tatra Mountains. The High Tatras, with their 17 peaks over 2500 m AMSL, are, together with the Southern Carpathians, the only mountain ranges with an alpine character in the whole 1200 km length of the Carpathian Mountains.

Banská Štiavnica (GermanSchemnitzHungarianSelmecbánya - often the short form is used: Selmec; TurkishŞelmec Ban'a) is a town in central Slovakia, in the middle of an immense caldera created by the collapse of an ancient volcano. For its size, the caldera is known as Štiavnica Mountains. Banská Štiavnica has a population of more than 10,000. It is a completely preserved medieval town. Because of their historical value, the town and its surroundings were proclaimed by the UNESCO to be a World Heritage Site on December 11, 1993.

Property No #618

Date of Inscription on the List of UNESCO: 1993

Levice (Slovak pronunciation: [lɛvit͡sɛ]HungarianLévaHungarian pronunciation[ˈleːvɒ]GermanLewenzTurkishLeva) is a town in western Slovakia. The town lies on the left bank of the lower Hron river. The Old Slavic name of the town was Leva, which means "the Left One".

It is the capital of the Levice District, which is the largest district in Slovakia at 1,551 km². The town's heraldic animal is lion (in Slovak lev), and the town's colours are green and yellow.

Town hall - erected in 1902, second floor built-up while lifting the roof by a screw mechanism in 1927.


Bratislava Castle (Slovak: Bratislavský hradGermanPressburger SchlossHungarianPozsonyi Vár) is the main castle of Bratislava, the capital of Slovakia.

Orava Castle (SlovakOravský hradGermanArwaburgHungarianÁrva vára), is situated on a high rock above Orava river. It is considered to be one of the most beautiful castles in Slovakia. The castle was built in the Kingdom of Hungary in the thirteenth century. Many scenes of the 1922 film Nosferatu were filmed here, although until recently it was thought to have been shot in Transylvania.

The Lietava Castle (SlovakLietavský hrad, older names Litova, Letava, Lethowa, Zsolnalitva) is an extensive castle ruin in the Súľov Mountains of northern Slovakia, between the villages of Lietava and Lietavská Svinná-Babkov in the Žilina District.

The Strečno Castle (SlovakStrečniansky hrad) is a Gothic castle in northern Slovakia, 7 km east of Žilina.

The Čachtice Castle (Slovak pronunciation: [tʃaxtʲɪtse]) (SlovakČachtický hradHungarianCsejte vára) is a castle ruin in Slovakia next to the village of Čachtice. It stands on a hill featuring rare plants, and has been declared a national nature reserve for this reason. The castle was a residence and later the prison of the Countess Elizabeth Báthory, who is alleged to have been the world's most prolific female serial killer.

The ruins of Spiš Castle (Slovak: Spišský hradHungarianSzepesi vár, German: Zipser Burg) in eastern Slovakia form one of the largest castle sites in Central Europe. The castle is situated above the town of Spišské Podhradie and the village of Žehra, in the region known as Spiš (HungarianSzepesGermanZipsPolishSpiszLatinScepusium). It was included in the UNESCO list of World Heritage Sites in 1993 (together with the adjacent locations of Spišská Kapitula, Spišské Podhradie and Žehra). This is one of the biggest European castles by area (41 426 m²).

Property No #620

Date of Inscription on the List of UNESCO: 1993

The Trenčín Castle (SlovakTrenčiansky hradHungariantrencséni vár) is a castle above the town of Trenčín in western Slovakia.


Sent on: March 27, 2013
Received on: April 8, 2013

No comments: