13 August 2013

#282 San Juan, Puerto Rico (USA)

The Caribbean Sea is a sea of the Atlantic Ocean located in the tropics of the Western hemisphere. It is bounded by Mexico and Central America to the west and southwest, to the north by the Greater Antilles, to the east by the Lesser Antilles, and to the south by South America.

The entire area of the Caribbean Sea, the numerous islands of the West Indies, and adjacent coasts, are collectively known as the Caribbean. The Caribbean Sea is one of the largest seas and has an area of about 2,754,000 km² (1,063,000 sq. mi.). The sea's deepest point is the Cayman Trough, between the Cayman Islands and Jamaica, at 7,686 m (25,220 ft) below sea level. The Caribbean coastline has many gulfs and bays: the Gulf of GonâveGulf of VenezuelaGulf of DariénGolfo de los MosquitosGulf of Paria and Gulf of Honduras.

Thank you, Eduardo !

Sent on: August 3, 2013
Received on: August 13, 2013

No comments: