24 July 2015

#931 Estonia

Põlva County (EstonianPõlva maakond), or Põlvamaa, is one of 15 counties of Estonia. It is situated in south-eastern part of the country and borders TartuValga and Võru counties. The county also shares a common border with Pskov Oblast of Russia. Long sections of the border with neighboring Russia have not yet been ratified by treaty, and certain villages in Põlva County (e.g., Lutepää and Saatse) can only be reached by driving through Russian-controlled territory. 27,028 people live in Põlva County - constituting 2.3% of the total population in Estonia (as of January 2013).

Taevaskoja (VõroTaivaskua) is a village in Põlva ParishPõlva County in southeastern Estonia, known for its outcrops of Devonian sandstone on the banks of Ahja river.

Kiidjärve is a village in Vastse-Kuuste ParishPõlva County in southeastern Estonia. It's located about 9 km (6 mi) north of the town of Põlva and about 30 km (19 mi) southeast of the city of Tartu, by the Tartu–Pechory railway and the Ahja River. The village territory includes Saesaare Reservoir with hydroelectric power station and Valgesoo bog (Landscape protection area).

Piusa is a village in Orava ParishPõlva County, in southeastern Estonia. It is located on the left bank of Piusa River, near the border of Russia.

Piusa is famous for its sand caves along the river.

Sent on: July 23, 2015
Received on: July 24, 2015

No comments: