18 May 2016

#1090 Wrocław, Poland

Masuria (Polish: MazuryGermanMasuren) is a region in northern Poland famous for its 2,000 lakes. It has been the part of East Prussia inhabited by Polish-speaking, Lutheran Masurians. Masuria occupies much of the Masurian Lake District (PolishPojezierze Mazurskie). Administratively, it belongs to Warmian-Masurian Voivodeship (Polishwojewództwo warmińsko-mazurskie). Its biggest city is Ełk, often regarded as its capital. It has territory of about 10,000 km2 and population of 500,000.

The Masurian Lake District or Masurian Lakeland (PolishPojezierze MazurskieGermanMasurische Seenplatte) is a lake district in northeastern Poland within the geographical region of Masuria. It contains more than 2,000 lakes. The district had been elected as one of the 28 finalists of the New7Wonders of Nature.

The Lakeland extends roughly 290 km (180 mi) eastwards from the lower Vistula to the Poland–Russia border, and occupies an area of roughly 52,000 square kilometres (20,000 sq mi). Administratively, the Lake District lies within the Warmian-Masurian Voivodeship. Small parts of the district lie within the Masovian and Podlaskie Voivodeships.

The lakes are well connected by rivers and canals, forming an extensive system of waterways. The 18th-century Masurian Canal links this system to the Baltic Sea. The whole area is a prime tourist destination, frequented by boating enthusiasts, canoeists, anglers, hikers, bikers and nature-lovers. It is one of the most famous lake districts in Central Europe and a popular vacation spot, with the highest number of visitors every year.

Date of Issue: May 9, 2016 | Europa CEPT 2016 'Think Green'

Thank you, Kamila !

Sent on: May 16, 2016
Received on: May 18, 2016

No comments: