15 June 2016

#1110 Paraguay

The Jesuit Missions of La Santísima Trinidad de Paraná and Jesús de Tavarangue (SpanishMisiones Jesuíticas de La Santísima Trinidad de Paraná y Jesús de Tavarangue) are located in the Itapúa DepartmentParaguay, and are religious mission that are still preserved and that were founded by the Jesuit missioners during the colonization of South America in the 17th century. These religious missions were created in 1609 and developed for 150 years. Both Jesuit missions were declared World Heritage Site by the UNESCO in 1993.

The Jesuit Missions of Paraguay are considered some of the most impressive creations of the religious work of the Jesuit, and are testimony of the historical richness of the country.

Date of Inscription on the List of UNESCO WHS: 1993

Thank you !

Sent on: May 18, 2016
Received on: June 14, 2016

No comments: