31 August 2016

#1145 Luxembourg

The flag of Luxembourg (LuxembourgishLëtzebuerger FändelGermanFlagge LuxemburgsFrenchDrapeau du Luxembourg) consists of three horizontal stripes, red, white and blue, and can be in 1:2 or 3:5 ratio. It was first used between 1845 and 1848 and officially adopted on June 23, 1972.

Luxembourg had no flag until 1830, when patriots were urged to display the national colors. The flag was defined as a horizontal tricolor of red, white, and blue in 1848, but it was not officially adopted until 1972. The tricolor flag is almost identical to that of the Netherlands, except that it is longer and its blue stripe is a lighter shade. The red, white, and blue coloring was derived from the coat of arms of the county of the Ardennes, renamed county (1339 duchy, 1815 grand-duchy) of Luxembourg after the creation of its identical named capital city in 963 A.D. by then count Siegfried.

Date of Issue: May 10, 2016 | Europa CEPT 2016 'Think Green'

Thank you, Anne !

Sent on: August 23, 2016
Received on: August 30, 2016

No comments: