29 June 2017

#1277 Brazil

The flag of Brazil (PortugueseBandeira do Brasil) is a blue disc depicting a starry sky (which includes the Southern Cross) spanned by a curved band inscribed with the national motto "Ordem e Progresso" ("Order and Progress"), within a gold rhombus, on a green field. Brazil officially adopted this design for its national flag on November 19, 1889, four days after the Proclamation of the Republic, to replace the flag of the Empire of Brazil. The concept was the work of Raimundo Teixeira Mendes, with the collaboration of Miguel Lemos, Manuel Pereira Reis and Décio Villares.

The green field and the gold rhombus from the previous imperial flag, though slightly modified in hue and shape, were preserved — the green represented the House of Braganza of Pedro I, the first Emperor of Brazil, while the gold represented the House of Habsburg of his wife, Empress Maria Leopoldina. A blue circle with white five-pointed stars replaced the arms of the Empire of Brazil. The stars, whose position in the flag reflect the sky over Rio de Janeiro on November 15, 1889 (including the Southern Cross) represent the union's federated units — each star representing a specific state (plus the capital district). The motto Ordem e Progresso is inspired by Auguste Comte's motto of positivism"L'amour pour principe et l'ordre pour base; le progrès pour but" ("Love as a principle and order as the basis; progress as the goal").

Just like the American flag, the flag is modified to include additional stars after new states are created in the country. At the time the flag was first adopted in 1889, it held 21 stars. Then it received one more star in 1960 (representing Guanabara), then another in 1968 (representing Acre), and finally four more stars in 1992 (representing AmapáRoraimaRondônia and Tocantins), totalizing 27 stars in its current version.

Thank you !

Received on: April 27, 2017

No comments: