11 January 2018

#1486 Cuba

The national flag of Cuba consists of five alternating stripes (three blue and two white) and a red equilateral triangle at the hoist, within which is a white five-pointed star. Designed in 1849, it was adopted officially on May 20, 1902.

It is one of the two flags of a currently communist country (besides Laos) that does not use any communist symbolism.

The three blue stripes represent the three departments in which Cuba was divided at that time, the white purity of ideals, the light; the red triangle, originating from the French Revolution – and the three ideals of liberty, equality and fraternity: red for the blood and the courage; the star was the new state that should be added to the United States.

Thank you !

Received on: January 11, 2018

No comments: