05 March 2016

#1036 Malaysia

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is a political and economic organization of ten Southeast Asian countries. It was formed on 8 August 1967 by IndonesiaMalaysia, the PhilippinesSingapore, and Thailand. Since then, membership has expanded to include BruneiCambodiaLaosMyanmar (Burma) and Vietnam. Its aims include accelerating economic growthsocial progress, and sociocultural evolution among its members alongside protection of regional stability as well as providing a mechanism for member countries to resolve differences peacefully.

ASEAN covers a land area of 4.4 million square kilometers, 3% of the total land area of Earth. ASEAN territorial waters cover an area about three times larger than its land counterpart. Member countries have a combined population of approximately 625 million people, 8.8% of the world's population. In 2015, the organisation's combined nominal GDP had grown to more than US$2.6 trillion. If ASEAN were a single entity, it would rank as the seventh largest economy in the world, behind the USA, China, Japan, Germany, France and the United Kingdom. ASEAN shares land borders with IndiaChinaBangladeshEast Timor and Papua New Guinea, and maritime borders with IndiaChina and Australia.

Thank you, Jaise !

Sent on: August 21, 2015
Received on: March 3, 2016

No comments: